Reckless Driving in Georgia: Here’s What You Need to Know

Unfortunately, Atlanta drivers act aggressively behind the wheel every day. Atlanta is known for its aggressive drivers who think that they can get a leg up on city traffic. There is a fine line between being rude and pushy behind the wheel and breaking the law.
 
In Georgia, there are penalties for both aggressive and reckless driving. Aggressive driving is essentially reckless driving with an intent to threaten, harass, or annoy others. It is a high and aggravated misdemeanor with a fine of up to $5,000 and jail time up to a year.
 

What is the Fine for Reckless Driving in Georgia?

Reckless driving is charged more often, and there does not need to be another driver involved for the motorist to be charged. It is considered a serious traffic offense, and it would have a significant impact on the charged driver’s license and car insurance. In Georgia, reckless drivers could receive the following:
 

  • Four points on their license
  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to a year in jail

 

What Is Reckless Driving in Georgia?

Reckless driving happens when a motorist operates a vehicle with reckless disregard for the safety of others. This could include the following:

     

  • Speeding violations where the driver was going far above the speed limit
  • Cutting others off
  • Weaving in and out of traffic
  • Tailgating


 
Each of these examples of illegal driving has the potential to injure someone else. In fact, reckless driving is responsible for approximately one-third of all motor vehicle fatalities in a given year. Even when another driver or passenger is not killed, they can suffer serious injuries. When a driver was reckless, they could be made to pay in a lawsuit.
 

Atlanta Car Accident Attorneys Helping Clients

When you are seeking compensation after car accident injuries, call the attorneys at Ahmad Injury Law at (404) 986-8762 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation.
 

FAQ

Is Reckless driving charge evidence of negligence?

Yes. Anytime that a driver gets a ticket in connection with an accident, it can be used as evidence.

How do I document the other motorist’s reckless driving?

You should call the police to the scene of an accident.

What can I recover financially?

It all depends on the particular injuries that you suffered in the crash.