Georgia has specific laws on using car seats, and the authorities expect each driver to implement the laws within the state. Due to the increased number of accidents in Georgia, everyone needs to observe the car seat laws to keep children safe on board and minimize accident rates. Read on to learn about Georgia car seat laws.
Georgia State Laws on Car Seats and What You Should Do
Children Less than 8 Years Must Belt Up and Sit in the Back Seat
Georgia car seat laws require children below eight years and shorter than 57″ to sit in the vehicle’s back seat. Avoid encouraging children to sit in the front seat because of the risks involved with airbags and shoulder and lap belts. While these components are safety features for adults, they pose a danger to the younger ones and can cause serious injuries or even death. The child is only allowed to sit in the front seat if the vehicle does not have a back seat. This is an exemption from the law, but you should ensure that the child is safe in the car seat.
While the Georgia car seat belt applies to children below eight years, it is imperative to ensure that children belt up and sit at the back until they reach 13 years. However, children who exceed 4 feet and 9 inches in height are exempt from this law from belting up, but you should ensure your children are safe. The law applies to all types of vehicles except public transport and cabs.
Another crucial element is to purchase car seats suitable for your children, depending on the child’s age. It is best to check the height and weight of the car seat and purchase one that fits into your car and is suitable for your child.
Before you fit the seat in the car, ensure you read the instructions carefully to determine whether it is suitable for your child. Contact us today for legal advice and guidance if you forgot to belt up your child or place them in the back seat and get caught up by the authorities.
Children Under 8 Years Must Use a Child Restraint System
If your child is below eight years, you must ensure they are secure in an approved child restraint system. This depends on the child’s age, weight, and height. Below are the specifications.
Front-Facing Seat: A child who is one year old and weighs at least 21 pounds can sit in the front-facing car seat. However, if the child weighs less than 20 pounds under the same age, they should stay in the rear-facing seat as per the law.
Rear-Facing Seat: Keep children below two years in the rear-facing seat when driving. According to the law, children should remain in the rear-facing seat for as long as possible until they attain the height and weight limits. Georgia laws specify that children should stay in the rear-facing seat until 12 months old.
Booster Seat: The law allows your child to move from the front-facing seat to the booster seat when they reach 40 pounds. This mainly applies to children between 1 and 7 years.
If your child is between 8 and 18 years, they must use a booster seat with a lap. However, those below 4 feet and 9 inches should use a shoulder belt.
While the law allows a child to transition to the booster seat at a younger age, it is best to wait until weight and height limits are reached. Contact us today if you face issues with the authorities for not following car seat laws.
Contact a Georgia Lawyer If Your Child Is Injured In a Car Accident
A car accident can happen at any time, anywhere, whether your child has a seat belt is seated in the right place or not. It is best to speak to an experienced personal injury lawyer to discuss your options and make informed decisions. Contact us today for a free consultation.
How much fine will I pay for not obeying the law?
Georgia imposes a fine of $50 and $100 for first and subsequent convictions consecutively. So, it is best to follow the laws and avoid issues.
What do I do if my child is injured in an accident in Georgia?
If the accident occurs due to another person’s negligence, you can file a claim and seek compensation to recover the damage incurred.
When should I hire a car accident lawyer?
If your child gets injured in an accident due to another person’s negligence, contact your lawyer immediately to guide and advise you on the legal processes.